University of Portsmouth

University Information, Campus and History
(Portsmouth, Hampshire, England)

The University of Portsmouth is located in the city of Portsmouth in the southern English county of Hampshire. It is the only university in the city. It is regarded as one of the strongest performing universities of the post-1992 universities.

Formerly known as the Portsmouth Polytechnic, the university was officially inaugurated in 1992. It evolved from the Portsmouth and Gosport School of Science and Arts that was founded in 1869. The university was initially founded and established to train engineers and skilled workmen to work at the city docks and the large Royal Navy dockyard to support Portsmouth's growing shipping and trade industry at that time. It was forced to diversify its programmes and syllabus after the decline of the shipping industry during World War II.

The university has two modern and diverse campuses: Guildhall and Langstone. Langstone, located in Milton, is the smaller of the two campuses and presently has a student population of over 19,000. The University of Portsmouth has five faculties:
  • Business
  • Creative and Cultural Industries
  • Humanities
  • Science
  • Technology


The University of Portsmouth is home to many facilities. Some of the newly renovated and modernized buildings in the university are the business school, the Student Union building, the sports hall and gym, the refurbished and extended arts building, and the refurbished Students Advice Services Centre. The Frewen University Library is presently being extended at a cost of £11 million. It will reopen in mid-October of 2006.

The Langstone campus overlooks the Langstone Harbour. The university's sports grounds and the 'student village' are located in this campus and features a canteen and bar. The University of Portsmouth Student Union (UPSU) is located in the Guildhall campus. The facility has a grocery shop, two bars, a nightclub, and a bookshop.

The university has sports clubs and field teams in football, rugby union, cricket, paintball, sailing, rowing, and aquapush. It has the longest running paintball club in the UK. The university publsihes its own magazine called the Pugwash, which was voted the best student magazine in the UK in 2000 and 2003.

Famous Students

Some of the notable students who graduated from the University of Portsmouth are poet Simon Armitage; Baron Chidgey of Hamble-le-Rice in the County of Hampshire and Liberal Democrat politician David Chidgey; former Labour Politician and former Secretary of State for Wales Ron Davies; television presenter and travel writer Ben Fogle; game designer and head of RTL games Rachel Lowe; artist and winner of the 2003 Turner Prize Grayson Perry; writer Shirley Conran; television presenter and 'performance biologist' Howie Watkins; radio presenter Ricky Salmon; Labour politician Andrew Miller; television presenter of TMF UK's The Loaded Hour Kate Edmondson; and the Baroness and Liberal Democrat politician Diana Maddock.

The main office of the University of Portsmouth is located at the University House Building, Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO1 2UP. Their telephone number is: +44 (0)23 9284 8484 and fax number: +44 (0)23 9284 3082. They can also be reached through email at:

Contact University of Portsmouth:
Address: University House, Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO1 2UP, England, UK
Tel: +44 (0)23 9284 8484
Fax: +44 (0)23 9284 3082
Portsmouth University

Portsmouth University

I'm looking for: